• Join our Facebook group and follow us on Twitter to be part of our large online community sharing photos of their exciting and unusual discoveries.

  • You can also donate to CNHS by clicking the donate button. You can choose how much you wish to gift to us to support our work for wildlife.

  • For any queries please click the email button to get in touch.

© 2005-2019 Colchester Natural History Society. Designed by Ecotrack created with Wix.com

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

CONTACT

For general enquiries please get in touch with us at info@CNHS.uk

 

Sven Wair - chair@CNHS.uk

Pam Wilson - vicechair@CNHS.uk

Martin Byrne - secretary@CNHS.uk

Martyn Gill - treasurer@CNHS.uk

Pascale Genevois - membership@CNHS.uk

Newsletter submissions and queries

Russell Leavett - cervus@CNHS.uk

Website programming

Darren Tansley - web@CNHS.uk

Coach trip bookings

Pascale Genevois - coach@CNHS.uk

 

Wildlife Recorders and sending us your records

Our wildlife recorders are on hand to confirm your wildlife sightings and record them so that we have an up to date record of the species in our area. If you want to submit your sightings then please email our recorders (preferably with a photo of what you've seen) and include as much detail as possible. A basic record consists of the following pieces of information:-

  1. Species name

  2. Date seen

  3. Location (OS Grid Reference, map link, description etc.)

  4. Any other useful notes or information

​​

If you are unsure what you have seen then please do send a photo and we will do our best to identify it for you. we may be able to identify a species from footprints, feeding remains, droppings etc so please feel free to send us information about field signs even if you haven't seen the species itself. Also please remember that even dead animals should be reported as this is still a valid record.

 

CNHS Recorders list

Botanical - Dr Stephen Clarkson - plants@CNHS.uk

Fungi - Sarah Manning - fungi@CNHS.uk

Birds - Dougal Urquhart - birds@CNHS.uk

Mammals (plus Reptiles and Amphibians) - Darren Tansley - mammals@CNHS.uk

Butterflies, Dragonflies, Grasshoppers & Bumblebees - Prof Ted Benton - butterflies@CNHS.uk

Moths - Dougal Urquhart - moths@CNHS.uk

Hoverflies, Soldierflies and their allies (diptera) - Russell Leavett - flies@CNHS.uk

Beetles - Nigel Cuming - beetles@CNHS.uk

Aquatic invertebrates and plants - Pam Wilson - aquatics@CNHS.uk

Freshwater fish - Ernie Wells - fish@CNHS.uk

Molluscs - Simon Taylor - molluscs@CNHS.uk

Plant galls - Jerry Bowdrey - galls@CNHS.uk